Tags

, , , , , ,

Lately we’ve been trying hard to work our way through some Cooking Light recipes that we’ve had set aside to try. Last night’s attempt was this one: Pork Tenderloin with Mushroom Sauce. We enjoyed it. The recipe was simple and very easy to prepare. I wouldn’t say that it’s company-worthy, but it is a solid weeknight dinner that I can see us making again down the road, say when pork tenderloin is on sale. The recipe CL ran says to serve it with grits, but doesn’t give you instructions for preparing them, so I’ve altered the recipe to include what we did.

The only trouble I had was the sour cream. I was using an organic full-fat version, and was concerned that it would break when added to the hot sauce. I tried it anyway, but it did in fact break. It didn’t alter the flavor, but the presentation wasn’t wonderful. (Thus, I used CL‘s image in this post.) In the future, I’ll temper the sour cream before adding it to the sauce.

image via MyRecipes.com

Ingredients

  • My Stone-Ground Savory Grits
  • 1 (1-lb.) pork tenderloin, trimmed
  • 3/4 tsp. kosher salt, divided
  • 1/2 tsp. freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 Tbsp. olive oil, divided
  • 1 (8-oz.) package button mushrooms, thinly sliced
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 Tbsp. white wine vinegar [I used Champagne vinegar]
  • 1 cup fat-free, lower-sodium chicken broth
  • 1/4 cup crème fraîche or sour cream
  • 2 tsp. Dijon mustard
  • 3 Tbsp. chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley [I used thyme]

Method

  1. Prepare Grits.
  2. After Grits have cooked 30 minutes, place a small roasting pan in oven. Preheat oven to 425°.
  3. Sprinkle pork  with 1/2 tsp. salt and pepper. Add 1 Tbsp. olive oil to preheated pan, and swirl to coat. Add pork to pan. Roast at 425° for 20 minutes or until a thermometer inserted in the thickest portion of pork registers 145°, turning after 10 minutes. Remove pork from pan, and let stand for 10 minutes.
  4. Meanwhile, place roasting pan over medium-high heat. [My roasting pan is large, so I scraped the drippings into a nonstick skillet and used that instead.] Add the remaining 1 Tbsp. oil to pan; swirl to coat. Add mushrooms; sauté 4 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add garlic, and sauté 1 minute, stirring constantly. Stir in vinegar, and bring to a boil. Cook 1 minute or until liquid almost evaporates, stirring occasionally. Stir in remaining 1/4 tsp. salt and broth; bring to a boil. Cook until liquid is reduced to 1/3 cup (about 7 minutes). Remove from heat, and stir in crème fraîche, mustard, and parsley.
  5. Cut pork crosswise into slices. Serve with grits. (We also added broccoli.)

Note: In the future, I will temper the sour cream before adding it (or maybe use crème fraîche if it’s not too pricy). Stir a little of the hot broth into the sour cream, then add the sour cream to the remaining hot sauce. This should help keep it from breaking. Or, substitute some Philadelphia Cooking Cream—it apparently can handle being stirred into hot sauces without breaking.

My Stone-Ground Savory Grits

Method

  1. Place grits in a Dutch oven. Add 4 cups water, and stir. Let grits settle. Carefully pour out as much water as you can. The hard kernels that are floating on the top of the water will be poured out too, which is what you want. Return Dutch oven to stovetop; add remaining 4 cups water and Knorr tub.
  2. Bring to a boil; reduce heat, and simmer, uncovered, 50 minutes or until creamy and tender, stirring often to prevent sticking. Stir in pepper.

Notes: I don’t add salt, but you can if you wish. I find that the Knorr packet adds enough for my taste—plus I top my grits with other fun stuff, which normally has salt. I timed this recipe so that it was done cooking when the pork was done too, so that the grits sat, covered, off the heat while I made the mushroom sauce. Everything was still hot when it was time to serve. This will make about 3-4 servings, depending on the size.

