Tags

, , , ,

I had some (minor) oral surgery done on Monday, so I’m on a soft foods diet for the next 10 days. So, B and I have been trying to brainstorm new (soft) foods I could eat. There’s only so much grits and mashed potatoes a person can eat. Last night, we tried the Red Lentil Soup from Southern Living magazine’s December issue. It was great! I know people think ‘healthy’ when they think of lentils, but that doesn’t have to mean the dish will lack flavor (though lentils are super healthy for you, too). B paired his with a roast beef sandwich for a cozy winter meal.

Red Lentil Soup

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1 sweet onion, diced (I omitted this, but you can keep it!)
  • 1 cup chopped carrots
  • 1 cup chopped celery
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 (28-oz.) can diced tomatoes
  • 2 cups dried red lentils (I used Whole Foods 365 Organic Red Lentils)
  • 2 extra-large chicken bouillon cubes (I used two packets of low-sodium bouillon powder)
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 cup chopped fresh basil (I only used 2 Tbsp. and it seemed like plenty to me)

Preparation

  1. Melt butter in a Dutch oven over medium-high heat. Add onion and next 3 ingredients, and sauté 5 to 6 minutes or until tender. Add tomatoes, next 5 ingredients, and 5 cups water.
  2. Bring to a boil; reduce heat to medium, and cook, stirring occasionally, 30 minutes or until lentils are tender. Stir in basil just before serving.

Note: I cooked my soup uncovered since the recipe did not specify to cover, but by the 20 minute mark it was pretty thick. I added 1 cup low-sodium chicken broth at that point, covered it, and let it cook for the remaining 10 minutes. Yum.

Photo courtesy MyRecipes.com.

