Tags

, , , , , , , ,

As you might have noticed from previous posts, our powder room has two mirrors that really date the room. Both are traditional, rectangular-cut mirrors glued directly onto the walls and secured with small brackets along the edges, except in our case, they meet in a corner. The result of this is that when your washing your hands you see two or more reflections staring back at you. Yikes, right? Below is B’s write-up of what he did to safety remove the wall-glued mirrors.

So, I began researching different ways to remove the mirrors from the wall. Overall the process is not one of the safer DIY tasks. The mirror can easily break, and then you have a million little chunks hanging around, all with the chance of cutting you. To help nullify the risk, I began by taping every inch of the mirrors. This helps to reduce the number of mini-mirrors waiting to cut you. I then employed a trick we used to remove the wallpaper: I poured water down the back of the mirror and gave it a minute to soak in. All I was really looking for here was a little extra give in either the glue or the exterior paper on the drywall. After a few minutes–let’s call it 10–I began to pry the mirror off the wall. I then took a piece of mirror wire (purchased from Lowe’s) and began to “saw” at the glue on the back of the mirror.

After a few saws, I gently tried to pull the mirror forward. Very carefully, I applied pressure to the back of the mirror and listened for the sound of the drywall giving way. I then alternated back and forth between sawing with the wire and applying pressure. After a few times, the exterior paper on the drywall came free. This left me with two intact mirrors that we can frame and reuse somewhere else and a few places on the wall to mud over before sanding and painting.

All in all, a successful afternoon. -B

